What is a surgical technologist?

What is a surgical technologist? I’m glad you asked! A Surgical Technologist, also called a scrub or scrub tech, is an allied health professional who assists in delivering surgical care. In the operating room, scrub techs are there to make each procedure run as smooth and efficient as possible. We do this by anticipating the needs of the surgeon, knowing hundreds of surgical procedures and instruments, and maintaining sterile and aseptic technique.

Scrub techs are found in all surgical specialties including OB/GYN, urology, ENT, plastics, orthopedics, neurology, cardiovascular, and general surgery. We work with a team of health professionals including the surgeon, anesthesiologist, first assist, and nurse. There are quite a few other roles involved in surgery, but those are the main members of a surgical team.

Scrubs also act as preceptors for students and nurses. As preceptors, we help students learn and develop their skills in the perioperative setting.

Currently, I’m in the second term of my surgical tech program at Concorde and I couldn’t be more excited! I still have quite some time before I head off to my clinicals (seven months to be exact), but I’m so excited to share my education and journey with you!

unnamed

 

Leave a comment